This page was printed from

Geosynthetics Conference 2021 short course lineup announced

Final Inspection | August 1, 2020 | By:

By Barbara J. Connett

The Geosynthetics Conference 2021 Organizing Committee is pleased to announce the Short Course Roster. These half-day in-depth courses feature detailed instruction in a small group setting. All courses provide four professional development hours (PDHs) and are included with full registrations at no extra cost.  

For full descriptions, visit

AASHTO 2020: Three Acceptable Design Methods of Geosynthetic-Reinforced Walls
Dov Leshchinsky, University of Delaware and ADAMA Engineering, and Daniel Alzamora, P.E., Geotechnical and Hydraulic Engineering Team, Federal Highway Administration Resource Center

Fundamentals of Geosynthetics: Types, Functions, Selection
and Performance

Kerry Petrasic, Gannett Fleming Inc.

Designing for a Zero-Leak Containment Facility
Abigail Gilson, TRI Environmental;
Jeff Blum, Weaver Consultants Group;
and Richard Brachman, Queen’s University

Geosynthetics in Erosion and Sediment Control and Erosion-Resistant Hydraulic Structures
Joel Sprague, TRI Environmental;
Markus Wilke, HUESKER Synthetic GmbH

Landslide Remediation/Erosion Control with Geogrid, Geocell
and Soil Anchors

Stephan Gale and Nathan Lichty,
Gale-Tec Engineering Inc.

Construction on Soft Soil Using Geosynthetics
Lilma Schimmel, HUESKER Inc and
Alex Potter-Weight, Menard USA

Supporting Organizations as of June 2, 2020

Association for Mechanically Stabilized Earth (AMSE),

ASTM International,

Canadian Geotechnical Society (CGS),

Deep Foundations Institute (DFI),

Erosion Control Technology Council (ECTC),

Fabricated Geomembrane Institute (FGI),

Federal Highway Administration (FHWA),

Geo-Institute—Kansas City Chapter,

Geosynthetic Institute (GSI),

International Association of Geosynthetic Installers (IAGI),

International Geosynthetics Society—North America (IGS-NA),

Missouri University of Science and Technology,

Transportation Research Board (TRB),

University of Kansas—School of Engineering (KU),

University of Missouri—Columbia,

U.S. Universities Council on Geotechnical Education and Research (USUCGER), 

Share this Story