This page was printed from

AASHTO elects Kentucky’s Mike Hancock and Wyoming’s John Cox

News | October 23, 2013 | By:

Transportation association has worked with GMA’s focus groups

The American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials (AASHTO) board of directors announced in an Oct. 21 press release the election of Mike Hancock as president and John Cox as vice president. The elections took place during the 2013 AASHTO annual meeting in Denver Oct. 17–21.

In recent years, AASHTO’s National Transportation Product Evaluation Program (NTPEP) has worked with focus groups from the Geosynthetic Materials Association (GMA) to establish a geotextile testing and manufacturers audit program. GMA has encouraged state DOTs to incorporate the features of this program into their geotextile specification and selection processes.

Hancock is currently secretary of the Kentucky Transportation Cabinet (KYTC). Cox is the director of the Wyoming Department of Transportation (WYDOT).

The press release said that Hancock will emphasize three areas for the association:

  • updating the AASHTO strategic plan.
  • promoting innovation as it relates to state DOTs and industry practices.
  • participating directly in AASHTO’s effort to pass the next surface transportation reauthorization bill.

“This is a critical time for transportation agencies across the country as we grapple with uncertain federal funding in the face of ever-increasing transportation needs,” said Hancock. “AASHTO member transportation departments … rely on the federal government to provide sustainable levels of annual transportation funding today and into the future.”

The release noted that Kentucky Gov. Steve Beshear appointed Hancock to lead the KYTC in 2010. He previously served as assistant state highway engineer for program management, deputy state highway engineer for planning, state highway engineer, and KYTC chief of staff. Hancock has worked with local, state, and national leaders in the areas of project prioritization and transportation funding.

“A top priority for our nation must be to achieve economic stability through a strong and sustainable level of transportation investment,” said Hancock. “As president of AASHTO, I look forward to continuing discussions with lawmakers as Congress works to reauthorize federal transportation programs before they expire on Oct. 1, 2014.”

AASHTO vice president John Cox has served as WYDOT director since January 2005. He is responsible for Wyoming’s largest state agency with more than 2,000 employees based in 60 locations.

AASHTO represents state departments of transportation in all 50 states, the District of Columbia, and Puerto Rico.

For more information: AASHTO

Source: AASHTO

Share this Story

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Comments are moderated and will show up after being approved.