This page was printed from

14th IGS Council is formed

News | August 3, 2010 | By:

At the 9th International Conference on Geosynthetics (9ICG) in Guarujá, Brazil, the International Geosynthetics Society (IGS) Council marked the beginning of a new term.

During the IGS’s General Assembly May 26, the officers and council members elected to serve for the 2010–2014 term were announced and officially took office. The elected officers are: Jorge G. Zornberg–president, Russell Jones–vice president, and Fumio Tatsuoka–immediate past president.

Per IGS bylaws, the new council elected a treasurer and secretary from the current council membership. John Cowland, the incumbent treasurer, was reappointed by the council to serve as the IGS Treasurer. Elizabeth Peggs, a six-year member of the council, was appointed IGS Secretary.

In addition to these appointments, the IGS Council co-opted members to better represent the diversity of IGS membership within the council. Gerhard Bräu continues as the editor of IGS News and in that position has a permanent invitation to participate in IGS Council meetings.

For more information:

New contact information:
Diana Davis, Secretariat Manager
605 Belvedere Rd.
Suite #13
West Palm Beach, FL 33405 USA
Tel: +1.561.249.0088
E-Fax: +1.561.828.7618
Email: IGSsec@geosyntheticssociety.orgIGS Council roster

Share this Story

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Comments are moderated and will show up after being approved.