This page was printed from

IGS releases 2020 election results

News | June 24, 2020 | By:

With a field of 17 extraordinary candidates from 12 countries applying for 7 council positions there was significant competition. The newly elected council members will stand for the term which concludes in 2024.

The incoming IGS council members will be Dr. Laura Carbone (Germany), Francesco Fontana (Italy), Dr. Jacek Kawalec (Poland), Dr. Yoshihisa Miyata (Japan), Jabulile Msiza (South Africa), Dr. Timothy Stark (USA) and Helmut Zanzinger (Germany).

Thank you to all the candidates for participating in this year’s election and their ongoing commitment to the IGS.

The IGS expresses its deep appreciation to IGS Council Members who are completing their service and will be leaving the IGS Council: Erol Guler (Turkey), Boyd Ramsey (USA), Kent von Maubeuge (Germany), Martin Ziegler (Germany), Hong Kwan (Hogan) Kim (Korea) and Dr. Junichi Koseki (Japan).

Finally, thanks to everyone who voted in the election and for their participation in this important democratic process. Participation in elections, as candidates and voters, is critical to ensuring that we stay true to our mission and hear all members’ voices. 

Share this Story