AASHTO names chair, vice chair for HR committee

November 24th, 2023

The American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials (AASHTO) has named a chair and vice chair for its Committee on Human Resources. The AASHTO Committee on Human Resources shares, researches, and recommends processes, best practices, and policies that enable the human resource functions of state transportation agencies to continuously become stronger and more innovative and efficient. […]

Read More

FRA awards more than $16 billion for NEC rail projects

November 22nd, 2023

The Federal Railroad Administration (FRA) recently awarded $16.4 billion to 25 passenger rail projects along the Northeast Corridor or NEC, a critical passenger and freight railroad line serving the Northeast U.S.’s five major metropolitan regions – Boston, New York, Philadelphia, Baltimore, and Washington, D.C. FRA Administrator Amit Bose. Photo courtesy of AASHTO. “[These] investments are […]

Read More

Sherman named 2023 Robert J. Dexter Lecture winner

November 20th, 2023

The Steel Bridge Task Force recently selected Ryan Sherman, an assistant engineering professor at the Georgia Institute of Technology, as the recipient of the 2023 Robert J. Dexter Memorial Award Lecture. Ryan Sherman, center with award, is the recipient of the 2023 Robert J. Dexter Memorial Award Lecture. Photo courtesy of AISI. The Steel Bridge […]

Read More

TRB announces Roy W. Crum Award recipient

November 16th, 2023

Named for Roy W. Crum, who served as the board’s director from 1928 until his death in 1951, the Crum Award recognizes outstanding achievement in the field of transportation research. Dr. Imad L. Al-Qadi, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign Grainger Distinguished Chair in Engineering and founding director of the Illinois Center for Transportation, is the 2023 […]

Read More

Longest-serving USDOT deputy secretary passes away

November 14th, 2023

Mortimer Downey, the longest serving deputy secretary of the U.S. Department of Transportation (USDOT), passed away from pulmonary fibrosis on November 2, 2023 at the age of 87. Mortimer Downey. Photo courtesy of AASHTO. Downey served as USDOT deputy secretary from 1993 to 2001. He was originally appointed to the position at the beginning of […]

Read More

AASHTO CRUO awards recognize member achievements

November 10th, 2023

The Committee on Right of Way, Utilities and Outdoor Advertising Control – known as CRUO – recently presented several awards in recognition of their work to develop innovative programs to address highway issues. Pictured, left to right: Nancy Daubenberger, Jennifer McCleve, and CRUO vice chair Drew Gilmore. Photo courtesy of AASHTO. The American Association of State Highway […]

Read More

AASHTO names Committee on Knowledge Management chair

November 1st, 2023

The American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials (AASHTO) has named Aaron Johnson - superior region engineer for the Michigan Department of Transportation – to a two-year term as the chair of its Committee on Knowledge Management. He previously served a two-year term as the committee’s vice chair. Aaron Johnson. Photo courtesy of Michigan DOT. […]

Read More

New alliance program unveiled by AASHTOWare

September 28th, 2023

Software provider AASHTOWare – a division of the American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials (AASHTO) – recently launched a new endeavor called the AASHTOWare Alliance Program. Jim Tymon. Photo courtesy of AASHTO. Since 1985, AASHTOWare has been the premier source of innovative technology solutions for the transportation community. As a result, AASHTOWare created this […]

Read More

Finalists named for America’s Transportation Awards

September 19th, 2023

The American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials recently unveiled the Top 12 finalists competing for the two national 2023 America’s Transportation Awards. Jim Tymon. Photo courtesy of AASHTO.  Sponsored by AASHTO, AAA, and the U.S. Chamber of Commerce, the America’s Transportation Awards contest serves as a catalyst to honor state DOTs and the […]

Read More

Mid America state DOT projects win regional awards

August 22nd, 2023

Seven state department of transportation projects from Iowa, Minnesota, Illinois, Kentucky, and Wisconsin recently won regional 2023 America’s Transportation Awards for the positive impacts those endeavors made on their respective communities; from adding adult changing rooms at rest stops to providing immediate assistance in the aftermath of a tornado. Wisconsin DOT receiving the regional 2023 America’s Transportation […]

Read More