America’s Transportation Awards extends entry period

April 5th, 2024

The American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials (AASHTO) has extended the nomination deadline for the 2024 America’s Transportation Awards contest to April 19. Click here to submit a nomination for this year’s competition. This program, now in its 17th year, seeks to highlight the important work state departments of transportation do every day to improve quality of […]

Read More

AASHTO discusses proposed trichloroethylene rule

January 10th, 2024

The American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials (AASHTO) recently provided feedback to the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) on its proposal to address the “unreasonable risk of injury to human health presented” by trichloroethylene or TCE as part of the Toxic Substances Control Act. Photo courtesy of AASHTO re:source. AASHTO noted in a letter to the […]

Read More

Ohio DOT investing nearly $74 million in safety projects

January 2nd, 2024

Governor Mike DeWine (R) and the Ohio Department of Transportation (ODOT) recently unveiled $73.8 million worth of investment into more than two dozen traffic safety projects statewide aimed at reducing the risk of crashes on Ohio’s roads.  That funding – from Ohio DOT’s Highway Safety Improvement Program – will cover the various phases of project development, right […]

Read More

Nebraska DOT deputy director receives national award

December 25th, 2023

The Nebraska Department of Transportation (NDOT) announces that Moe Jamshidi, NDOT deputy director of operations, has been awarded the Thomas H. MacDonald Memorial Award by the American Association of Highway Transportation Officials (AASHTO).  Established in 1957, the Thomas H. MacDonald Memorial Award recognizes and honors the achievements of a state transportation professional who has provided […]

Read More

FHWA issues final GHG measurement rule

December 19th, 2023

The Federal Highway Administration (FHWA) recently issued a finalized performance measurement rule to provide state departments of transportation and metropolitan planning organizations with a “national framework” for tracking transportation-related greenhouse gas emissions (GHGs), along with the requirement to set their own targets for GHG reduction. Shailen Bhatt. Photo courtesy of AASHTO. Entitled “National Performance Management Measures; Assessing […]

Read More

AASHTO board of directors builds on commitment to safety

December 14th, 2023

Building on the momentum from the recent first ever AASHTO Safety Summit, the AASHTO board of directors unanimously passed a resolution during its annual meeting that furthers the organization’s commitment to combating roadway fatalities through collective concrete actions. “While AASHTO and its members have always considered safety to be the top priority in the work […]

Read More

Top transportation leaders honored for exceptional contributions

December 12th, 2023

The American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials (AASHTO) recently recognized 11 state DOT individuals, teams, and programs driving positive change in the transportation sector through its annual awards program at the AASHTO Annual Meeting. “These annual awards recognize individuals and teams that demonstrate an unwavering commitment to transportation,” said AASHTO Executive Director Jim […]

Read More

AASHTO elects new leadership at 2023 annual meeting

December 7th, 2023

The board of directors of the American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials (AASHTO) recently elected Craig Thompson, secretary of the Wisconsin Department of Transportation, as its 2023-2024 president. The board also selected Garrett Eucalitto, commissioner of the Connecticut Department of Transportation, as its 2023-2024 vice president. Pictured, left to right, is Garrett Eucalitto, […]

Read More

Arizona DOT office wins four top awards from AASHTO

December 1st, 2023

The Arizona Department of Transportation (ADOT) Office of Communications and Public Involvement has won four top awards from an organization representing state transportation agencies across the country. ADOT took home the honors during the recent annual meeting of TransComm, the communications committee for the American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials (AASHTO), the national […]

Read More

State DOTs win top prizes in America’s Transportation Awards competition

November 29th, 2023

A popular rail trail project benefiting active transportation users in the Northeast and a partnership that delivered additional transit services to the public out west were announced as winners in the competitive America’s Transportation Awards contest. Utah Department of Transportation and Utah Transit Authority joined forces to deliver the “Teamed Up for Transit” project, which earned […]

Read More